Fauré: The Complete Verlaine Settings

Tony Boutté - tenor, Emily Kilpatrick, Roy Howat - piano

Gabriel Fauré / Roy Howat / Emily Kilpatrick / Tony Boutté


Inspired by Verlaine’s expressive poetry, Gabriel Fauré’s compositions mark one of the summits of all art song. From the first setting of Clair de Lune to the legendary Venetian and La Bonne Chanson song cycles, the collection presents music of extraordinary emotional depth.

Tenor Tony Boutté has established himself as a first-rate singer of many styles, including opera, art song, oratorio, and chamber music from the Baroque period to today. Described by Opera News as "possessed of a radiant, communicative tenor", the Louisiana native has performed across the United States and Europe. Tony is on the faculty of Sam Houston State University (Texas, USA) and is artistic director of New American Voices.

Scots-born Roy Howat is internationally known as performer and scholar. As pianist Roy has appeared worldwide with an array of distinguished chamber music partners and singers, also giving masterclasses, broadcasts, and lectures. His acclaimed critical editions include numerous volumes of Fauré’s piano and chamber music for Edition Peters, as well as the complete songs, co-edited with Emily Kilpatrick.

Pianist and scholar, Australian-born Emily Kilpatrick enjoys a varied career as soloist, duo player and vocal accompanist. Emily is co-editor of the new Peters edition of Fauré’s Complete Songs, and a major contributor to the Edition Peters volumes on Tido Music.

Producer / Recording Engineer: Philip Hobbs


  • 1. Clair de lune (Menuet) (Op. 46 no. 2)
  • 2. Spleen (Op. 51 no. 3)
  • 3. Prison (Op. 68 no. 1 [Op. 83 no. 1])
  • 4. Valse Caprice No.4 in A flat Major, Op. 62
  • Cinq mélodies [“de Venise”] (Op. 58)
    • 5. Mandoline
    • 6. En sourdine
    • 7. Green
    • 8. À Clymène
    • 9. C’est l’extase
  • 10. Nocturne No. 6 in D flat Major, Op. 63
  • 11. Barcarolle No. 5 in F sharp minor, Op. 66
  • La Bonne Chanson (Op. 61)
    • 12. Une Sainte en son auréole
    • 13. Puisque l’aube grandit
    • 14. La lune blanche luit dans les bois
    • 15. J’allais par des chemins perfides
    • 16. J’ai presque peur, en vérité
    • 17. Avant que tu ne t’en ailles
    • 18. Donc, ce sera par un clair jour d’été
    • 19. N’est-ce pas ?
    • 20. L’hiver a cessé

Additional Information

Item Number: EPS004
Format: Compact Disks
Duration: 61 Mins
Publication Date: 07/09/2017
Barcode: 700461442301
Format: 145 x 145 cm

© 2017-

Peters Edition Ltd

2-6 Baches Street

London N1 6DN

Registered Company 337746    VAT Reg. 232 247882

powered by PRIAM © 2023
Cookie Control
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer to enhance your browsing experience.