Carmen (Vocal Score)

Opera in 4 Acts (Fr/Eng), Urtext

Georges Bizet / Richard Langham Smith
Vocal Score, Urtext Edition


This major new edition of perhaps the world’s most popular opera, includes French and English text, incorporates the original dialogues, and is backed up by complete orchestral performance material.

  • Unique sources: includes information derived from documentation of French productions of Bizet’s time – aspects not preserved in the scores or librettos at the time, nor represented in other current editions.
  • Informative and practical: a comprehensive preface (in English, French and German) provides fascinating background information to the edition and practical guidance to the performance of Carmen


  • Preface
  • Plates
  • Sources and bibliography
  • Prélude
  • Act I
    • No 1 Introduction et Choeur (Chorus, Moralès, Micaëla)
    • No 1b Scène et pantomime (Scène de l'Anglais) (Chorus, Moralès)
    • No 2 Marche et Choeur des gamins (Children, Moralès, Don José, Zuniga)
    • No 3 Choeur des Cigarières (Chorus, Carmen)
    • No 4 Havanaise (Chorus, Carmen)
    • No 5 Scène (Chorus, Carmen, Don José)
    • No 6 Duo (Don José, Micaëla)
    • No 7 Choeur (Chorus, Zuniga)
    • No 8 Chanson et Mélodrame (Carmen, Zuniga)
    • No 9 Chanson et Duo (Carmen, Don José)
    • No 10 Final (Zuniga, Carmen)
  • Entr'acte
  • Act II
    • No 11 Chanson Bohème (Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès)
    • No 12 Choeur et Ensemble (Chorus, Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès, Moralès, Zuniga)
    • No 13 Couplets (Chorus, Escamillo, Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès, Moralès, Zuniga)
    • No 13bis Sortie d'Escamillo
    • No 14 Quintette (Dancaïre, Remendado, Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès)
    • No 15 Chanson (Don José)
    • No 16 Duo (Carmen, Don José)
    • No 17 Final (Chorus, Zuniga, Dancaïre, Remendado, Don José, Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès)
  • Entr'acte
  • Act III
    • No 18 Sextuor et Choeur (Chorus, Dancaïre, Remendado, Don José, Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès)
    • No 19 Trio (Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès)
    • No 20 Morceau d'ensemble (Chorus, Dancaïre, Remendado, Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès)
    • No 21 Air (Micaëla)
    • No 22 Duo (Don José, Escamillo)
    • No 23 Final (Chorus, Don José, Escamillo, Dancaïre, Remendado, Carmen, Micaëla, Frasquita, Mercédès)
  • Entr'acte
  • Act IV
    • No 24 Choeur (Chorus, Zuniga, Une Marchande, Un Bohémien)
    • No 25 Marche et Choeur (Chorus, Children, Escamillo, Carmen, Frasquita, Mercédès)
    • No 26 Duo et Choeur final (Chorus, Carmen, Don José)

Additional Information

Item Number: EP7548A
Format: Sheet Music
Number of Pages: 460
ISMN: 9790577003757
Format: 195 x 275 mm
Instrumentation: Soli-Chorus-Pf
Language: French


© 2017-

Peters Edition Ltd

2-6 Baches Street

London N1 6DN

Registered Company 337746    VAT Reg. 232 247882

powered by PRIAM © 2023
Cookie Control
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer to enhance your browsing experience.