Erkki-Sven Tüür on record

2020 saw the release of two portrait CDs covering the music of Erkki-Sven Tüür.

The first, Mythos, saw Tüür team up with fellow Estonian Paavo Järvi and the Estonian Festival Orchestra to produce recordings of some of his most recent orchestral works including Incantation of Tempest (2014), Sow the Wind… (2015) and his ninth symphony, the eponymous Mythos. Mythos was commissioned to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Estonia’s independence and was described by BBC Music Magazine as a piece in which the composer “rises magnificently to the challenge.”

Released on ECM’s New Series, Lost Prayers, is devoted entirely to Tüür’s chamber music. The Signum Quartet masterfully performs the Second String Quartet after which this collection takes its name, and is joined by the Estonian trio of Harry Traksmann, Leho Karin and Marrit Gerretz-Traksmann, and Signum violinist Florian Donderer with
cellist Tanja Tetzlaff, for works including Fata Morgana, Lichttürme and Synergie .

“This is a beautifully recorded disc, the performances are absolutely incredible. We’re playing here with the exploration of possible timbres that these instruments are capable of producing, and the performers excel on this. It feels like you’re sitting at the centre of this musical kaleidoscope and you’re hearing all the sounds that change into new patterns and configurations around you.” (Leah Broad, BBC Radio 3)

Visit Erkki-Sven Tüür’s website for further details.

© 2017-

Peters Edition Ltd

2-6 Baches Street

London N1 6DN

Registered Company 337746    VAT Reg. 232 247882

powered by PRIAM © 2021
Cookie Control
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer to enhance your browsing experience.