Saunders named recipient of the 10th Roche commission


Rebecca Saunders has been announced as the tenth composer to be commissioned in Lucerne Festival’s Roche Commissions series.

The new commission, a piano concerto for Nicolas Hodges, will be presented in 2020 at the Lucerne Festival. Every two years since 2003, the Roche Commissions series has commissioned a work by a world-renowned composer to be premiered at the summer festival in Switzerland. The piano concerto follows this year's Roche commission, Peter Eötvös' Reading Malevich, which was performed by the Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra and conducted by Matthias Pintscher.

Over in Austria, Saunders is Composer-in-Residence at this year’s Klangspuren Schwaz (6-22 September) with performances of works including Skin for soprano and ensemble; the double percussion concerto, Void; and the Austrian premiere of her latest string quartet, Unbreathed. Quatuor Diotima will then perform the French premiere of Unbreathed at Festival Musica Strasbourg.

Ensemble Modern continues its tour of Story Water, a choreographed concert featuring Saunders’ Fury II, through 2018 and into the beginning of 2019. Choreographed by Emmanuel Gat, the performance heads next to Beethovenfest Bonn, before continuing to Tanzfestival RheinMain (Frankfurt), Festival für zeitgenössische Musik (Hamburg) and the Théâtre national de Chaillot (Paris).

© 2017-

Peters Edition Ltd

2-6 Baches Street

London N1 6DN

Registered Company 337746    VAT Reg. 232 247882

powered by PRIAM © 2019
Cookie Control
This site uses cookies to store information on your computer to enhance your browsing experience.